Skip to main content

Community-Faculty Southeast Asia Partnership Awards

Funded by Bringing Southeast Asia Home, an initiative sponsored by the Henry Luce Foundation Initiative on Southeast Asia, these funds are meant to sponsor activities that benefit both theoretical inquiry and community needs. Applications must be submitted by a community-faculty team that features at least one community member and one faculty member of any rank at any UNC system institution. Each award is in the amount of $5,000. If this award amount is not appropriate to the needs of the project, please contact the Assistant Director of Southeast Asian Initiatives to consider alternatives. Applications are due annually at the end of October. 

The next deadline to apply for these funds is March 15, 2023. Applications can be submitted to the CAC’s Assistant Director for Southeast Asia Initiatives, Becky Butler.

To apply for a Community-Faculty Southeast Asia Partnership Award, please submit:

  • A two-page description of the research to be undertaken. Please address how this award will benefit both theoretical research and community needs.
  • CVs of the community applicant and the faculty applicant
  • Detailed budget, justifying the requested amount
  • Timeline of the activities to be undertaken

Within two weeks of completion of activities funded by the award, you must submit a one-page report summarizing and evaluating the research activity with consideration of future directions. You are also required to present the work undertaken at the next annual Southeast Asia workshop, which is held in mid-May each year. Participation at the workshop should be cost neutral for you, so if you are outside of the Chapel Hill area, either travel funds will be provided or you may attend virtually. This can be determined on a case-by-case basis with the assistance of the Assistant Director for Southeast Asian Initiatives.

Proposals for funding are welcomed from UNC faculty and should be focused on a diaspora community connected to one or more the eleven countries of Southeast Asia: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Vietnam.